We’ve been busy in our first week with “Nesting”, making the home our own.

Being quite the DIY-Guy that I am, one of the first tasks was to make the storage bench in the reading nook more comfortable by adding a foam pad. Our local chain “Fred Meyer” just happened to have some basic camping and RV supplies that included a 6′ sheet of foam to be used as a simple mattress for campers.

Untitled

I was able to get it loaded up pretty easily on my bicycle trailer.

Untitled

The pad was shorter than the bench but wider than needed so I figured the side that was trimmed off could be used to fill the end pieces.

Untitled

Luck would have it that the trimmed piece was 8-inches wide and I needed 16-inches filled.

Untitled

By putting each 8″ piece on an end, it filled out the whole bench quite nicely.

We’ve already had friends over and have appreciated the padding.
Untitled

Easy-Peasy! Now we can use the bench for lounging or as a guest bed.

– Tomas

