We’re well into our 5th month of living in the tiny house. This past month I’ve been busy with work, school, the flu, gardening, a malfunctioning laptop, and trying to register the tiny house (I’ll write more on that later). I thought for this post I’d explain a little bit about why we decided to try on this tiny house lifestyle.

To begin, I’ll be honest. I think I had an idealist view of what how our tiny house story would go. I imagined a 5-star build, a smooth move-in, and a perfectly crafted well-designed structure. Our experience with the builder slammed me back into reality and brought home the point that this is real life, it’s not a fairy tale. Life can be messy. Even the tiny life. It can bring great wonders too and that’s what we’re hoping to gain from our choice to live as we do.

I wasn’t so naive to think that the tiny house would instantly make us happier, wealthier,  and content. Living in a smaller space doesn’t necessarily fix problems. In fact, it could enhance some things like personality quirks or habits. I didn’t think that all of a sudden, living in a smaller structure, my cat Benjamin would start behaving. He is still the same persnickety kitty and Tomas and I are the same people we are before we moved in (though I may be more humbled now). I think we’ve also become wiser about the purchase and placement of a structure like this. We’ve gained valuable life lessons. The experience has been challenging and has pushed our boundaries and beliefs which is a fine way to live if you ask me.

Not that I have everything figured out, but I like to think life is about puzzle pieces and balance. Finding the pieces that make you a whole person, and also balancing the things you have to do with the things you want to do. The tiny house is one way for us to budget our time and finances. We’re hoping it’ll give us more of both as we have less management of possessions, house chores, and bills.

As there are no guarantees in life, the tiny house is also a gamble. It’s not for certain that we’ll automatically have more free time and money, but we’ve made this choice in the hopes that it will bring us closer to our goals in life. For Tomas it’s to do more bike touring and for me it’s a way to consider other career opportunities that may pay less, but that I might find more rewarding.

From the past five months, I can see that reaching those goals will still take some time and patience (and savings). We still have a lot of choices to make before we can set off and travel the world. In the mean time, I’ve been able to more easily afford a power mover, school tuition, and cat dental bills and that makes me happy.

So, what did we learn this past month?

  • Don’t try to caulk a tub when the weather is in the 30s. Tomas had to re-re-caulk the tub. But it’s looking good and functioning much better now!
  • Mother nature felt we needed another curve ball so she sent us ants! It got warm enough outside that the ants got happy and went exploring, but it hasn’t been a major issue and we’ve pretty much got that under control (for now).
  • Tomas got a small desk and chair! He “re-modeled” our bench to make a work-space so that he can be more comfortable working on a laptop at home.
  • I don’t know if I’ve mentioned, but in five months of depending on one 120V outlet for all our power needs we have only managed to trip the breaker once. And that’s because the washer, dryer, heater, and other various mechanisms were running at the same time. Pretty good, I think.
  • Registration is turning out to be a major process for us. (more on that later)
  • I’m obsessed with gardening. But it’s therapeutic and very rewarding! (so far) 🙂asparagus

8658820102_446d21c2f7_z8658822446_291c6d4f0f_z

XO

Audrey

